Eh.

Alright. I’m tired. I’m not in the mood to write.. at all. I just slept for literally 16 hours. I think it was brought on by a perfect storm of weed, sleeping pills, klonopin and everyones’ favorite anti-psychotic Seroquel…..ugh, but… the show must go on. I am forcing myself to write about something everyday. So here it goes.

Keeping with the theme of compilations here, I’d like to mention the highly-influential 1986 compilation ‘C86’ released by New Musical Express. The comp featured bands from independent labels like The Mighty Lemon Drops, Primal Scream, The Pastels, and the Wolfhounds, just to name a few. I forget how I stumbled onto this amazing compilation but I’m glad i did. c86 has been called “the most indie thing to ever existed”. Wether thats true is obviously up to debate. Any fans of 1980’s alternative and fans of twee-pop/jangle-pop in general will love this compilation. Suprisingly, one of my favorite tracks on this comp is from the band Soup Dragons, who had a hit with that awful version of “I’m Free” by the Rolling Stones in the 90’s, but I was pleasantly suprised by their track “Pleasantly Suprised”. Ha Ha. Also,  C86 also turned me on to the Mighty Lemon Drops who are just amazing. Not every song on is here is a hit though… Like the Servants pseudo Syd-Barret pop song “Transparent”.  Yeah. Great word for this song… Transparent. I guess this stuff was pretty influential and all though, so I guess if you’re into compilations that changed the face of alternative music in the 1980’s will be interested in checking C86. The Pastels were a favorite of Kurt Cobain and 90’s alternative band “Velocity Girl” took their name from a Primal Scream song on this comp. I just love the overall sound of this album. Its very England, but its also very indie. AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT!!!

IT HAS COME TO MY ATTENTION THAT GUIDED BY VOICES ARE PLAYING A ONE-TIME SHOW WITH PAVEMENT AND SONIC YOUTH IN LAS VEGAS……. HOLY….. SHIT.

Anyway, C86, yeah, its great, check it out….  I’m not like totally obsessed with it like I am with KBD and Pebbles but it is no doubt a great compilation that has its place in alternative rock history.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

